City Council

Monday 21 March 2022

PRESENT:

Councillor Mrs Beer, in the Chair.

Councillor Mrs Bridgeman, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Bingley, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Buchan, Burden, Carlyle, Churchill, Coker, Collins, Corvid, Cree, Dann, Deacon, Derrick, Downie, Drean, Evans OBE, Harrison, Haydon, Hendy, Hulme, Mrs Johnson, Kelly, Laing, Loveridge, Lowry, Dr Mahony, McDonald, Morris, Murphy, Neil, Nicholson, Partridge, Patel, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Riley, Salmon, Shayer, Singh, R Smith, Stevens, Stoneman, Vincent, Wakeham, Ms Watkin and Wheeler.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Cresswell, James, Jordan and Tuffin.

Also present: Ross Jago (Head of Governance, Performance and Risk) and Tracey Lee (Chief Executive).

The meeting started at 1.45 pm and finished at 2.00 pm.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at www.plymouth.gov.uk. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

41. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest made by Members in accordance with the code of conduct.

42. Freedom of the City

Councillor Nick Kelly (Leader of the Council) introduced the nomination of the Falklands Veterans to bestow the honour Freedom of the City. The motion was seconded by Councillor Gareth Derrick.

Following a discussion with a contribution from Councillors Dr John Mahony.

It was <u>agreed</u> that in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, that, in appreciation of the splendid traditions of Falkland Veterans and as an expression of the admiration of the Citizens of Plymouth for their great and glorious achievements in the Service of this Country and of their long and historic association with the City, the Council do confer upon the services the Honorary Freedom of the City of Plymouth.

For (53)

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Bingley, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Mrs Bridgeman, Dr Buchan, Burden, Carlyle, Churchill, Coker, Collins, Corvid, Dr Cree, Dann, Deacon, Derrick, Downie, Drean, Evans OBE, Goslin, Harrison, Haydon, Hendy, Hulme, Mrs Johnson, Kelly, Laing, Loveridge, Lowry, Dr Mahony, McDonald, Morris, Murphy, Neil, Nicholson, Partridge, Patel, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Riley, Salmon, Shayer, Singh, Smith, Stevens, Stoneman, Vincent, Wakeham, Ms Watkin and Wheeler.

Against (0)

Abstain (0)